What I Should Be Doing Instead of Starting a Blog: The Packing List

So there’s two weeks (not that I’m counting down or anything) until I leave for Costa Rica.  I’m posting a packing list so people can give me suggestions if they want/so my future self can be upset with my present self for forgetting something/so I’ll actually make one.  Also, this is my pre-packing packing list, so I’m riding on wishful thinking that it will all fit.

Luggage:

  • 1 big disgustingly bright pink suitcase
  • 1 bigger gray suitcase
  • 1 backpack
  • 1 purse

Clothes:

  • 5 T-shirts (I’m really limiting myself here, as anyone who has seen my T-shirt collection can attest to)
  • 5 pairs of athletic shorts
  • all of my passable undergarments (I’ll leave the exact number a mystery)
  • 7 pairs of socks
  • my entire collection of swimsuits (two)
  • 1 hoodie
  • 5 tank tops
  • 4 dressy tank tops
  • 1 cardigan
  • 2 pairs of jeans
  • 3 pairs of nice shorts (projected–I currently only own 1 pair)
  • 6 nice shirts
  • 2 skirts
  • 4 dresses
  • 4 belts (2 waist, 2 regular)
  • Chacos (obviously)
  • 1 pair of nice sandals (brown)
  • 1 pair of flats (black)
  • 1 pair of cowboy boots (to prove I’m from Texas)
  • 2 pairs of tennis shoes
  • 1 pair of miscellaneous shoes (AKA to be determined)

Accessories

  • all the jewelry I actually wear (not much)
  • headbands/clips/bobby pins
  • 1 extra purse
  • 1 wristlet
  • 1 drawstring backpack
  • 1 pair of glasses
  • 2 pairs of sunglasses

Toiletries

  • 1 bottle each of essentials to get me established
  • 1 year’s worth of contacts
  • make-up
  • 5 month’s worth of lady products (extra luggage room for the return trip!)

Electronics

  • laptop (and charger)
  • waterproof camera (thanks mommy!) (and battery charger and cable)
  • Kindle (and charger)
  • iPod and ianPod (and cable)

Documents

  • passport
  • driver’s license
  • insurance card
  • plane ticket
  • stuff to get a visa (so I don’t get kicked out of the country)

Books

  • travel guide
  • Bible (English)
  • Bible (Spanish)
  • Les Misérables (English)
  • Hamlet
  • Harry Potter y la piedra filosofal (for practice on the plane)
  • Spanish grammar reference
  • Spanish dictionary

Miscellaneous

  • alarm clock
  • DCC water bottle
  • watch

Now the real fun will be actually packing, which will be interesting as I’m not technically finished unpacking from college.

Also, I promise there will soon be pictures.  Once I start taking them.

5 thoughts on “What I Should Be Doing Instead of Starting a Blog: The Packing List

  1. So I’ve often mentioned to people that Costa Rica would be a place I can visit. Well since that won’t happen anytime soon, can I purchase you something (small) that you may need? This way I can say that a part of me was in Costa Rica. I have a great sense of taste when it comes to sunglasses!

  2. Pingback: Things I Wish I Had Known Before Coming To Costa Rica | The Quest for Pura Vida

Leave a Reply

