I Think I Found the Pura Vida; Also, Why Do I Blog?

The title of my blog is “The Quest for Pura Vida,” which is lovely and wonderful; it was born of a need to identify the blog as something to do with Costa Rica and a penchant for the word “quest”. Now that I’m nearing the end of said quest, though, something’s got to change.

I consider this year a trial run of blogging. I started the blog for several reasons:

  • Letters home for those who wanted to read them.  This was at the suggestion of my mother* and a few other key people in my life.
  • A record of my study abroad experience for those who were considering doing the same.  I had trouble finding good information on what to expect from studying abroad in Costa Rica before I came, so I wanted to keep a (relatively) consistent log for the benefit of others.
  • A way to process.  Writing has always been a way to process life for me, but I’ve never been able to do it in a consistent way.  I’ve kept a literal log of daily activities; written poetry, short stories, and nonfiction; kept a journal of “ideas”; briefly kept a dream journal; written a series of witty and well thought-out Facebook status updates; and now I blog.
  • Establishment of my public identity.  Let’s be real, there’s a bit of narcissism in all of us, and this blog gives me a way to let people see me how I want to be seen.  Also, I won’t lie, I’ve published a couple of posts hoping specific people would read them, for whatever reason.

*Hi, Mom!

The question is, do I want to continue to blog after I leave Costa Rica?  I will definitely finish off posting Costa Rica-related topics, namely descriptions of places I’ve been, but once I lose my muse, will my blog have a purpose?

I purposefully left my URL vague in the beginning, with the idea that it might live past my stay in Costa Rica, but now that I’m at the turning point, I’m still unsure of if it will.

Anyway, the point is, something’s going to change in the next month or so.  Either the blog will become an eternal unchanging monument to my study abroad year, or it will get a major repurposing overhaul with my study abroad experience as an archive.

Thoughts?

5 thoughts on “I Think I Found the Pura Vida; Also, Why Do I Blog?

  1. I think you should continue blogging! You’re going to have so many adventures (big and small) in the future and you should write about them. 🙂

  2. Write a blog about how to use wordpress & write fabulous blogs 😛 I kid, although I’m still working on perfecting the skills necessary to write one of my own haha But your posts are for realzies enjoyable, whether long or short.

  3. Hi, I’ve been following your blog, and I love reading about your adventures and thoughts! I do have a question though. What was the exchange rate like? I heard Costa Rica was much like the U.S. in terms of pricing and stuff. I just don’t know how much money I should bring for 5 weeks.

    • I’m glad you like it!
      The exchange rate is a little more than 500 colones for 1 US dollar. If you eat local food at the smaller restaurants (called sodas) and buy food for cooking in non-touristy areas, you can generally eat for less than in the US. You just kind of have to go out of your way to look for cheaper stuff. Clothes and electronics and stuff tend to be a little more expensive here, but I don’t imagine you’ll be doing much of that type of shopping if you’re only here for 5 weeks!
      I find it’s easier to withdraw local money from the ATMs here as you need it instead of bringing money to be exchanged, that way you don’t have to carry it around or mess with going to the bank to exchange it.

      • Thank you! I was going to order money from Wells Fargo, but they were kinda ripping us off when I compared the exchange rate to Google’s tracking rate. And that’s really good to hear. I prefer the local food anyway since I’ll get the whole feel 😀

Leave a Reply

