An Ode to the Coffee Float I Just Finished

Written September 5, 2015

I’m sitting in the small Italian town of Corniglia, which is one of the five towns that are all connected by hiking trails, collectively known as Cinque Terre.

I spotted an item called “affogato al caffé”, or “ice cream with hot coffee”, on the menu at a small café yesterday, and have waited over 24 hours to fulfill my dreams and order one.

I would just like to inform the world that it’s everything I dreamed of and more, my life is complete.  I am deeply indebted to whomever had the idea to combine my two favorite ingestible substances into one unbelievable cup of miracles.

So now I have a new favorite style of ice cream.  That’ll teach Blue Bell to create a void in my life for months, and then put their ice cream back on the shelves precisely five days after I leave the country.

Photo not my own. Not sure to whom I should give credit :/

Photo not my own. Not sure to whom I should give credit :/

Leave a Reply

